Mao Lab at 2024 ASGCT Annual Meeting

Congratulations to all the abstract presenters! Oral Presenters: Leo Cheng, Jinghan Lin, Xiang Liu, Jingyao Ma, Enoch Toh, Yining Zhu … Read More

Yining Zhu Wins the Hans J. Prochaska Research Award

The 2024 JHSOM Young Investigator Awards are announced! Our Yining Zhu received The Hans J. Prochaska Research Award! Young Investigators’ … Read More

Prof. Hai-Quan Mao Elected to the Rank of National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Congratulations to Prof. Hai-Quan Mao, who has been elected to the rank of National Academy of Inventors Fellow! The NAI … Read More

Nanoparticles Amplify Potential Cancer Vaccine Power

Joseph Choy Receives Roy B. Adams Fellowship and Donald S. Rodbell Memorial Graduate Fellowship

Congratulations to Mao Lab Ph.D. candidate Joseph Choy (left in the picture), who has been named as the recipient of … Read More

Jessica Stelzel Receives ARCS Foundation Scholarship

Mao Lab Ph.D. candidate Jessica Stelzel has been selected as an ARCS Foundation Scholar. ARCS Scholar Awards recognize outstanding students … Read More

Yining Zhu Receives STAR Award

Mao lab Ph.D. candidate Yining Zhu‘s paper “Lipid Nanoparticle Composition Shapes Immune Response to mRNA Vaccine and Potency of Anticancer … Read More

Joseph Choy Wins Graduate Teaching Assistant Award

Mao Lab Ph.D. candidate Joseph Choy has received the George M.L. Sommerman Engineering Graduate Teaching Assistant Award recognizing “excellence in … Read More

Christine Wei Receives NSF GRFP Fellowship

Mao Lab’s 2022 NSF REU intern Christine Wei received a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF-GRFP) Fellowship. The … Read More

Molecular Detection Platform Provides New Insights Into Gene Medicine Manufacturing

New Screening Platform for Uncovering Potent Lipid Nanoparticles to Deliver Gene Medicine

Natalie Livingston Receives NIH F31 Fellowship Award

Mao lab Ph.D. student Natalie K. Livingston received an NIH Predoctoral Individual National Research Service Grant Award (F31) for her work in … Read More

Joseph Choy Receives NSERC Postgraduate Scholarship

Mao lab Ph.D. student Joseph Choy received a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Postgraduate Scholarship – … Read More

Mao lab undergraduates advance as finalists in the Collegiate Inventors Competition

(L-R): Mao lab undergraduate students Bruce Enzmann, Anson Zhou, Michael Lan, and Juan Diego Carrizo Mao lab undergraduate students Bruce … Read More

Mao Lab Undergraduates Sweep WSE Convocation Awards

Today, Whiting School of Engineering Dean Ed Schlesinger announced the recipients of the 2021 Convocation Awards, highlighting the achievements of … Read More

Siddharth Iyer, Jasmine Hu, Mathias Insley, Diane Lee, and Eric Lin Win Lemelson-MIT Student Prize

Mao lab undergraduate students Siddharth Iyer, Jasmine Hu, Mathias Insley, Diane Lee, and Eric Lin have been selected as winners of

Bruce Enzmann, Michael Lan, and Anson Zhou Win 2021 Lemelson-MIT Student Prize

Bruce Enzmann, Michael Lan, and Anson Zhou have been announced as winners of the $10,000 “Cure it!” 2021 Lemelson-MIT Student Prize

Siddharth Iyer Receives NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Image credit: Johns Hopkins Department of Materials Science & Engineering Mao lab alum Siddharth Iyer and current researcher at the Johns Hopkins Institute for … Read More

Bruce Enzmann Receives Goldwater Scholarship

Mao lab undergraduate student Bruce Enzmann has been selected as a Goldwater Scholar. Established in 1986, the Goldwater Scholarship was one of … Read More

Scientists Advance Creation of ‘Artificial Lymph Node’ to Fight Cancer, Other Diseases “In a proof-of-principle study in mice, scientists at Johns Hopkins Medicine report the creation of a specialized gel that … Read More

Congratulations to John Hickey – Siebel Scholar 2019!

Established in 2000 by the Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation, the Siebel Scholars program awards grants to 16 universities in … Read More

Dr. Herdeline Ardona awarded 12th Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral Fellow

Congratulations to Dr. Ardona for being awarded as the 12th Irving S. Sigal Postdoctoral Fellow award (2018-2020)! … Read More

Mao Lab’s Translational Research Featured in Hopkins Engineering Magazine

LifeSprout in FastForward as a TTEC spinoff is highlighted in the newest JHU Engineering magazine! ” Tech Venturers— who are at … Read More

AssistENT wins Silver at 2017 Collegiate Inventors Competition!

Congratulations to Talia Kirschbaum and her team at AssistENT for winning silver at 2017 CIC! Winners were selected based on degree of originality and … Read More

Lifesprout featured on Baltimore BizJournal!

Hopkins startup looks to help regrow human tissue with new technology … Read More

Greg Howard awarded NSF GRFP Fellowship!

Congratulations to Greg Howard, BME Ph.D. student for receiving the NSF GRFP award! … Read More

John Hickey awarded Metropolitan Washington Chapter of Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Foundation Scholarship 2017-18

Congratulations to John Hickey, BME Ph.D. candidate in being awarded the MW/ARCS foundation scholarship for 2017-2018! … Read More

Antibiotic Coating Prevents Orthopaedic Joint Infections in Animals – Hopkins Medicine News

Antibiotic Coating Prevents Orthopaedic Joint Infections in Animals “Johns Hopkins researchers have designed a thin, biodegradable plastic coating for metal … Read More

LifeSprout on JH Tech Ventures

LifeSprout – Bringing soft Tissue Reconstruction Alternative to Market “The team developed a nanofiber-hydrogel composite material that immediately restores three-dimensional … Read More

Congratulations Charles Hu

Congratulations Dr. Charles Hu for a successful thesis defense! … Read More

Congratulations Dr. Markus Tammia!

Lebanese Taverna 11.17.16